ASN History

Neurology is a fast developing medical specialty around the world and here in Sri Lanka the situation is much the same. Compared to the early 1970’s when the whole of Sri Lanka was served by a single Neurologist operating from Colombo today we have over 20 board-certified Consultant Neurologists serving most parts of the country.


The Need

The need for an active professional organization dedicated to strengthening the hand of Neurology in Sri Lanka by supporting the Sri Lankan Neurologists in their clinical practice and academic activities was increasingly felt. In addition it was becoming necessary to promote fellowship and goodwill amongst the Neurologists to take the practice of Neurology to a higher level in this country.


An Idea Conceived

Given this background a ‘Neurology Forum’ was proposed and convened by two Consultant Neurologists, Dr. Bimsara Senanayake and Dr. Arjuna Fernando to address this issue. After preliminary discussions they decided to invite all practicing Neurologists in the country for a meeting which they termed the ‘NeurologyForum’.







First Neurology Forum

This historic meeting was held on the 26th of March 2006 at the Waters Edge in Colombo. This was truly a defining moment in the history of Neurology in Sri Lanka. Out of the 20 Neurologists who were in the country at the time 17 attended this meeting and the others got themselves excused.

At this meeting Dr. Bimsara Senanayake made a detailed presentation on the need for a separate professional organization for the Sri Lankan Neurologists on the same lines as the Association of British Neurologists (ABN). A parallel was drawn with the formation of the ABN in the UK in 1932. Also how the ABN transformed the standing of the British Neurologists and what we could learn from their experience was outlined. The forum unanimously decided to form a similar association in the country and call it the Association of Sri Lankan Neurologists (ASN). Subsequently a constitution was drawn up by a steering committee.




The following neurologists attended the historic first forum on the 26th of March 2006

  • Dr JB Peiris
  • Dr Ranjanie Gamage
  • Dr Padma Gunaratne
  • Dr Athula Dissanayake
  • Dr KD Pathirana
  • Dr MTM Riffsy
  • Dr Sunethra Senanayake
  • Dr Udaya Ranawaka
  • Dr Sudath Gunasekera
  • Dr Bimsara Senanayake
  • Dr Arjuna Fernando
  • Dr VT Rajendran
  • Dr Darshana Wijegunasinghe
  • Dr Janaka Peiris
  • Dr AT Alibhoy
  • Dr Nilupul Perera
  • Dr Harsha Gunasekera




ASN Registered with the Registrar of Companies

The memorandum and the articles of the ASN were registered according to section 21 of companies act no: 17 of 1982 by the registrar of companies in January 2007. Mr. S.P Morawaka Attorney- at –law and former Registrar of Companies facilitated this process.


Inaugural Office Bearers and Council Appointed

At the 3rd meeting of the neurology forum held on the 30th of July 2006 at the Waters Edge in Colombo ASN office bearers for the year 2007 were elected. All posts were uncontested. Dr. Ranjanie Gamage was elected as the first president of the ASN. Also at this meeting Dr  J.B. Peiris was invited to be the Patron of the new association with unanimous approval of the council and members. The inaugural office bearers and council were as follows:




The first Council of the ASN - 2007



Dr  JB Peiris


Dr  Ranjanie Gamage

President Elect

Dr  Padma Gunaratne

Joint Secretaries

Dr  Bimsara Senanayake, Dr Arjuna Fernando


Dr  Sunethra Senanayake


Dr  MTM Riffsy


Dr  Athula Dissanayake

Council Members

Dr  KD Pathirana


Dr  Sudath Gunasekera


Dr  AT Alibhoy


Dr  Dharshana Wijegunasinghe


Dr  Harsha Gunasekera


Dr  Nilupul Perera




Sponsorship/ Support

From its inception the Neurology Forum and many subsequent ASN council and general meetings were supported by Novartis Pharma. In addition to the financial support they were directly involved in the organizational work and the logistics. Mr. Dharmarajan and Mr. Jeffrey Solomon need special mention in this regard.


ASN Logo

ASN logo was designed by Mr.Rohan Dassenaieke.


Official Launch of the ASN

The ASN was officially launched on the 15th of January 2007 at the Colombo Hilton amidst a large and a very distinguished gathering of medical specialists, cooperate leaders and top level administrators. We were fortunate to have Dr. Johan Aarli, President of the World federation of Neurology (WFN), as our chief guest at this meeting. This event was hailed by many as one of the best medical events witnessed. The ASN logo was officially unveiled here. The first ASN President, Dr. Ranjanie Gamage, in her speech traced the history of Neurology in Sri Lanka in detail . Dr. Johan Aarli gave his blessings to the new Association and pledged to render continuous support. The meeting was followed by a glittering cultural show and dinner.

President ASN Dr Bimsara Senanayake being presented with the first historic copy of the SLJN by Prof Saman Gunathilake the first chief Editor on the 17th of November 2012 in Colombo Sri Lanka