Dear members and guests,

As we embark on another remarkable year, it is with great honour and privilege that I greet you as the 18th President of the Association of Sri Lankan Neurologists.

Sri Lanka is still experiencing the consequences of the Covid19 pandemic and recent economic turmoil where healthcare is tremendously strained resulting in shortage in essential medicines and supplies. The outgoing President and Council of ASN showed remarkable resilience and navigated through these obstacles to uplift the neurological services in the country, catering to patients with neurological disorders.

An important landmark in the history of ASN was reigning as the winners of ‘Tournament of Minds’ at the World Congress of Neurology 2023 in Canada. The reputation of ASN was enhanced internationally as it reached such new heights in academic and clinical neurology.

In the year 2024, ASN will pursue its objectives under the theme “Holistic care in neurology, across the lifespan”. Under the direction of this year’s theme, ASN will serve the country by promoting sustainable healthcare policies drawn on the principles of age-inclusiveness, optimal and efficient resource utilization, cost-effective solutions, and multi-sectoral collaboration. Comprehensive and holistic neurology care across the lifespan will undoubtedly contribute to the development of a healthy nation, galvanized to surge forward towards long term economic prosperity.

I am grateful to all ASN members for their unwavering support and dedication to all ASN events. I am confident in their commitment to improving neurological care. Together, we will endeavor to achieve equitable and high standard of neurological care across all age groups in Sri Lanka.

Professor Saraji Wijesekara

President 2024/25

Association of Sri Lankan Neurologists